STEP into THE 19th CENTURY
Laufás is a breathtaking farmstead surrounded by mountains and a picturesque view of the fjord with history at each footstep. Inhabited since the settlement of Iceland (874-930), it has been a church site since early Christianity in Iceland with a constant lineage of priests and ministers from 1047 to the current day. The heritage site contains a 19th century timber church and a vicarage. It is a maze of interconnected rooms, one of which is a unique bridal room from 1733.
The building has been constantly rebuilt over the centuries. The current version was rebuilt in an ambitious style between 1853-1882 and is an example of the gabled turf/sod farmhouse, although significantly larger than the ordinary houses of the time. The last minister moved out of the building with his family in 1936 and the last inhabitant moved out in 1966.
The church was built in 1865 and among its special items is a pulpit from 1698 with marvellous carvings. The old turf house is part of the National Museum’s Historic Buildings Collection.
Laufás Visitor Centre has a cosy atmosphere and offers additional information about nature, wildlife and the history of the area, a souvenir shop and refreshments.
Go for a family-friendly visit – Icelandic ponies visit every Sunday 14-16.
+354 463 3196/895 3172
Open: May-Sep | Daily 9-17
In winter open by prebooking
18 and over: 1,600 ISK.
Groups (10+): 1,365 ISK.
Akureyri Museum 24h pass: 2,000 ISK.
30km from Akureyri/20km from Goðafoss.